Belgium, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg are treated as one common area with a uniform trademark law and one trademark office. Since the adoption of the Benelux Trademarks Act in 1971, there are no national trademark laws in any of the Benelux countries anymore.

In order for a trademark to be protected in the Netherlands it has to be registered at the Benelux Trademark Office (after which the trademark is protected in the whole of the Benelux).